What is Account Merging on Fortnite?
*****As of May 6th, 2019 Fortnite has disabled the merge tool. Accounts are NO longer able to be merged. The information in this article is for reference to the merge tool only.****
The new account merging feature on Fortnite allows you to merge all cosmetic items (emotes, gliders, skins, etc.) and V-bucks that are currently on separate accounts. If you play Save The World, you can merge
Llamas, Defenders, Heroes, Schematics, Survivors, XP, Evolution and Perk Materials on both of your accounts. In order to qualify for the account merging feature, one of the accounts that you are merging must have played on an Xbox One or Nintendo Switch and the other account on PS4 before September 28th, 2018.
Why did Epic release the Account Merging feature?
As you can see, the account merging feature has strict criteria, and not just any two Fortnite accounts are able to be merged. One account must have played on an Xbox One or Nintendo Switch and the other on PS4, both prior to September 28th, 2018. As Fortnite is playable on different consoles, the issue is due to Sony’s account restrictions when Fortnite cross platform play initially became available. Sony initially did not allow cross-platform play with other consoles, so many users who had a PS4 and another console (Xbox One or Nintendo Switch) had to create a separate Epic/Fortnite account for both their PS4 and their Xbox One/Nintendo Switch. Many of those users ended up buying V-bucks and earning skins on both of their console specific accounts. Once Sony finally began allowing PS4 cross-play with other consoles, these users had no way of consolidating their V-bucks/skins earned from both of their accounts. Epic released the account merging feature to help these users.
How does Account Merging work?
If you have two accounts that meet the merging criteria, visit the following link:https://www.epicgames.com/fortnite/account-merge/en-US/home
Scroll to the bottom of the page and click “Get Started”. You will be prompted to login with both of your accounts that you are attempting to merge. One of these accounts will be listed as the “Primary Account” and one will be listed as the “Secondary Account”. The account login information that you want to continue using and logging in with should be entered as your Primary Account. The account that you would like to transfer all of the V-bucks and cosmetic items from should be listed as your secondary account. It almost goes without saying, but you must have access to both of the email addresses associated with each Fortnite account in order to complete the merger process. Once you have entered and verified your primary and secondary account, the next thing you need to do is wait two weeks for the items on your secondary account to be transferred to your primary account. After two weeks, all of the V-bucks and cosmetic items will be available on your primary account that were on your secondary account!
Screenshot from the Account Merging menu on Epic’s website.
What items will not be transferred when completing the Account Merge?
Per Epic Games, the following will not be transferred when merging accounts:
“Other Items such as Support-A-Creator status, Unreal Marketplace items, Creative Islands, and Save The World account level and progress will not be merged over from your secondary account”